This notice summarizes the provisions of Florida School Code (SB20-E) Section 1009.21 and University Policy/Procedure concerning Florida Residency for Tuition Purposes. In determining residency classification, students fall into one of two categories. They are either independent students (students not claimed on parent’s or legal guardian’s federal income tax statement or whose parents do not provide 50% or more of their support) or dependent students (students, regardless of age, who are claimed as dependents by parent or legal guardian on federal income tax statement or whose parents provide 50% or more of their support). The law requires that a U.S. citizen/permanent resident alien/independent student or a dependent student’s parent/legal guardian has established and maintained a LEGAL Florida residence for at least twelve (12) months before the first day of classes of the term for which Florida residency status is sought. The USF System is required to obtain documentation of 12 months of legal residence before a student is classified as a Florida resident for tuition purposes. A student is required to request Florida residency in writing and submit supporting documents no later than the fifth day of classes in the term for which classification is sought.
The following is acceptable, non-conclusive evidence of the establishment of a legal residence in Florida. Two documents must be dated/issued at least 12 months before the first day of classes of the term for which Florida residency is sought.
At least one (1) of the two documents must be from this list:
- Florida voter’s registration
- Florida driver’s license
- State of Florida identification card
- Florida vehicle registration
- Proof of purchase of permanent home in Florida occupied as primary residence
- Proof of homestead exemption in Florida
- Official transcripts from a Florida high school for multiple years (two (2) or more years), if the Florida high school diploma or GED was earned within the last 12 months
- Full-time, non-temporary employment in Florida for at least 30 hours per week for a 12-month period
Claimant may be provided one (1) or more documents from the following list to be used in conjunction with one document from above.
- Declaration of Domicile in Florida
- Florida issued professional/occupational license
- Florida incorporation
- Documents supporting claimant’s request for resident status, include, but not limited to, utility bills and proof of 12 consecutive months of payments, a signed residential lease agreement and proof of 12 consecutive months of payment; or an official state, federal or court documented legal ties to Florida
- Proof of membership in a Florida-based charitable or professional organization
Rent receipts, leases, employment records, tax returns, school/college records are NOT evidence of establishing a legal Florida residence. Students who are dependent on out-of-state parents or who come to Florida for educational purposes are generally ineligible for reclassification to Florida status. In rare cases, the law allows some students (e.g., military, public school teachers, etc.) who do not meet the basic requirements to be classified as Florida residents for tuition purposes. For more information about exceptional categories, contact the Admissions or Registrar’s Office.